Log in
  • Home
  • Research Laureate 2000

Research Laureate Award 2000

Dr. Lawrence GreenDr. Lawrence Green, DrPH, ScD (Hon)

2000 Research Laureate
Award Winner

Dr. Lawrence W. Green was the first recipient of the Academy's Research Laureate award. Many health education researchers and writers have contributed to our understanding of health behavior but none have done it more voluminously than Dr. Lawrence W. Green. Dr. Green was selected as the first recipient of this award for his unequivocal contribution to health education. He and his work is an example of the ideals that Academy strives towards.

Dr. Green is Professor Emeritus at the University of California, San Francisco. Before joining UCSF in 2005, Professor Green was Director of the Office of Science and Extramural Research and Director of the World Health Organization Global Tobacco Control Collaborating Center for the Centers for Disease Control. Dr. Green has been on the full-time public health and/or medical faculties at Berkeley, Johns Hopkins, Harvard, Texas, and the University of British Columbia. He was the first Director of the federal Office of Health Promotion under the Carter Administration, and a Vice President of the Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation. He has published several books and numerous articles on program planning, evidence and evaluation issues in health services, health promotion and public health. He served on the founding U.S. Preventive Services Task Force and now on the Task Force on Community Preventive Services. His awards include the highest distinctions of the American Public Health Association, the American Academy of Health Behavior, the International Union for Health Promotion and Education, the American Association for the Advancement of Health Education, the Society for Public Health Education, the UC Berkeley School of Public Health Alumnus of the Year, and an Honorary Doctor of Science degree from the University of Waterloo. Dr. Green was elected in 2009 to the Institute of Medicine of the National Academies, and has chaired several IOM committees.

© 2024 American Academy of Health Behavior. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software