Log in

3 Minute Thesis Competition Winners

Paul BranscumThe American Academy of Health Behavior invites graduate students and newly graduated post-doctoral professionals within 2-years of their post doctoral degree and not yet in a tenure-track position to participate in the annual 3-minute Thesis (3MT) Competition at each year's AAHB Scientific Meeting. The 3MT is an academic competition that challenges presenters to deliver a compelling oral presentation on their research agenda, highlighting the significance and impact of their research in no more than 180 seconds using a single slide.

2022 Winners

1st Place Award

Cassandra Beattie
Kansas State University
University gyms are not as inclusive as they appear: Graduate students, non-traditional students, international students, and faculty agree

Runner Up Award

Annalynn Galvin
University of North Texas Health Science Center
“The chances are zero”: Contraception use and perceived susceptibility to pregnancy among women experiencing homelessness

People's Choice Award

Abbie Luzius
Community Clinic
Factors Associated with Increased Social Risk of Expectant Mothers Seen at a Community Health Clinic

Previous Years Winners


  • Judge's Winner:
    Shuhan Yuan, Indiana University
  • People's Choice Winner:
    Tzung-Shiang OU, MS, RN, Indiana University


  • Three Minute Thesis Winner:
    Layton Reesor, The University of Houston
  • Three Minute Thesis People’s Choice (same person as above):
    Layton Reesor, The University of Houston
  • Three Minute Thesis Runner-Up:
    Tzung-Shiang Ou, Indiana University
  • Three Minute Thesis Second Runner-Up:
    Matthew Kearney, Drexel University


  • 1st Place Award & People's Choice Award:
    Vinu IIakkuvan, George Washington University
  • 2nd Place Award:
    Taylor Lensch, University of Nevada, Reno


  • 1st Place:
    Brittany Hollerbach, Kansas State University
  • People's Choice:
    Xuewei Chen, Texas A&M University

© 2023 American Acadamy of Health Behavior. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software